Posted by: smilesmores | February 20, 2010

“Sometimes… when you hold out for everything, you walk away with nothing.” ~From the television show Ally McBeal

Whenever I’ve interviewed for jobs in the past, I’d always answered the “What’s your worst trait?” question with what I thought people would actually see as good quality: perfectionism. In my head, there was nothing wrong with trying to be perfect. Ten years later, I realize it’s exactly that quest for perfection that keeps me from going after what I want and from being able to recognize that I have it good. I always believe there’s something better out there. And while that keeps me striving for more, it also keeps me from ever finding contentment. That’s not a good thing.

What’s great about this blog right now is…no one’s reading it. Ha! How funny is it that while I toil away at something that I love (writing), struggling to find just the right words to express my thoughts, there is no one out there to appreciate any of it?  Is there any value to this if there’s no one there to see that value? And who’s judgment is worth valuing?

Why even write about this in a public forum? It makes me wonder…how many people wholeheartedly pursue their dreams? And when is it a worthwhile venture? Who makes that decision? And why can’t I own up to making it?

How can I let go of my own need to be perfect? How do I learn to detach from the outcome and just enjoy the moment and what it has to offer?

Leave a Reply

Categories

