Posted by: smilesmores | February 26, 2010

“As human beings we all want to be happy and free from misery… we have learned that the key to happiness is inner peace. The greatest obstacles to inner peace are disturbing emotions such as anger, attachment, fear and suspicion, while love and compassion and a sense of universal responsibility are the sources of peace and happiness.” Dalai Lama

Before I even start, on a side note, lately I’ve been wondering how people write about anything authentically in a public forum without alienating themselves from their loved ones who may be offended. Perhaps I need to continue to write in a bit of a distanced fashion in order to keep producing something. I just wonder how interesting any of it is. For me, when I’m reading a journal, I connect mostly with uncovered, vulnerable and tender wounds more than sweeping generalizations about ambiguous experiences.

So I may need to just go back to journaling to unload until I figure out what I’m trying to do with this blog. There’s a mixed message of slow, personal growth competing with wisdom from the ages.

The word of the day, today, children, is *misery* and how much it loves company. I’ve noticed a trend over the years of preferring to be with people who were down. Whenever I met someone who was having a rough time I was elated, not because I wish evil on all people, but because I could identify with them. These days I feel stronger and no longer enjoy commiserating with people because I can start feeling the weight of their burdens, and I’ve finally recognized that it can only hurt to continue to stay in that bumbling state.

More later…time to get on with the weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

