Posted by: smilesmores | May 28, 2010

“When making a decision of minor importance, I have always found it advantageous to consider all the pros and cons. In vital matters, however, such as the choice of a mate or a profession, the decision should come from the unconscious, from somewhere within ourselves. In the important decisions of personal life, we should be governed, I think, by the deep inner needs of our nature.” Sigmund Freud

Because the work of a project manager can be stressful at times, I got attached to the notion of being a patent agent for a bit.  My friend had made it seem effortless to make decent money and stay professional.  I studied…for maybe a second…and then gave up as soon as I felt like there may not be a job market for this line of work.

It turns out that there is.  Another friend just told me that they’re hiring patent agents.  Too bad I haven’t been studying.

So why the random ramble about this?  I’m just starting to realize how my indecision is costing me.  And I’m also, maybe less so, realizing how talking about what you want and taking those baby steps when you need to, puts you closer to your goal.  I think I’ve forgotten that it takes work to get there.  Somehow while growing up it’d become an autopilot option to go to school and get a job that makes money.  I don’t think I’ve ever learned how to go for what I want.  It’s an important lesson.  I’m not sure how other people have learned it, and I feel like an idiot for just starting to turn the page on this chapter in my life.  And even so, I do it with indecision.  How do people move confidently into their futures without vacillating between choices?

Talk amongst yourselves.  I’m still lost, but getting there slowly.  One of these days….

Leave a Reply

Categories

